Growing Pains

My son has a temper, which doesn’t surprise me at all since I have one too! I discovered that he has this early on and I wanted to control it in any way I can by leading by example, that’s the best way to teach someone right? But I am only human and I have to admit that it’s hard to teach old dogs new tricks so sometimes I slip and these crucial mishaps has absorbed into my sons inner being but I still have hope that he can change.
My son at 2 years and 8 months
Last night I was telling him to stop playing because it was past his bedtime and he hit me on the arm. Now I know children tend to do this but I didn’t want him to start doing it to me or to other people so I didn’t let it slide. I told him that what he did was wrong and that if he did it again he would get punished and stay at the naughty corner. Of course he was crying, but I asked him to say “Sorry” to mommy. Of course he didn’t because aside from my temper he also got my characteristic of being full of pride! So as a result of not saying sorry, I ignored him, which was truly breaking my heart, 3/4 of me wanted to hug him and kiss him but a part of me thought he has to learn . So he went to his father for some attention and of course men so emotionally weak to anybody who cries took my son to his lap and eased him from crying.
The whole night my son ignored me and I ignored him back even during bed time he kept to his father’s side of the bed this really hurt my feelings but I know in my heart of hearts that my son knows I love him but I just want him to grow up to be a better person, even better than myself.
Leave a Reply

