a lesson on Tactlessness

Tactless is defined as:

lacking or showing a lack of what is fitting and considerate in dealing with others.

From http://www.thefreedictionary.com/

Living abroad for almost a decade now I’ve grown accustomed to the politeness and courteous ways that people treat each other. A friendly nod to a complete stranger in the supermarket, a polite good morning to your neighbor on the elevator, people helping others with no hidden agenda and so much more pleasantries are all part of our daily day.

Just having come from our vacation from Manila, I tried to keep up this courteous behavior everywhere we went which lead to people looking at me like I was crazy for smiling at them or by just being nice.

What affected me the most was that  I couldn’t believe it how people can still be so tactless. It’s a very Filipino culture to greet people with a very heartwarming “ang taba mo” (you look fat).  I grew up with this tastelessness  all my life resulting in me having so much insecurities about my body.

Now that I am a parent and fully aware that my words, actions and reactions can damage my son’s life permanently I am very careful with what I say to them and always making sure to check myself that I only give them praises and positive feedback to give them the confidence that they need.

I hope that in this small way I will begin to breed a new generation of Filipinos who are polite and courteous to others. I sure hope my  future daughter in law appreciates me for it.

Found this tweet on Twitter:

OCMominManila @OCMominManila

pero ikaw tactless

I identified with the tweet so much, it was nice to know that I was not alone in this world.

Leave a Reply

