Anything you can do I can do … better???

Gone are the days that we stereotype certain activities for only men or for only women. Nowadays women can do almost everything a man can do and vice versa. This is true in our house, my husband can do the dishes, clean up and takes care of our boys. These being “women’s only” chores don’t bother him at all. But as for me there are still some chores or responsibilities that I rely on him to do like taking care of the car  – I don’t understand any of it and I refuse to learn it.

But last week I braved myself and took on this “husband” chore. I brought the car to have it serviced. Now I know this sounds very minor but I was very afraid that they might treat me like a gullible woman (that I am) and start to offer me services done to my car that is not necessary and cost me more than what I was supposed to spend. I guess you can say it is my fear of the unknown that is disabling me to do it.

Turns out it’s as simple as 1-2-3. You park the car go to the desk and there is already a list of services that has to be done to your car according to the KM your car has so you hand them your keys, get a cup of coffee while you wait for them to do their job. When your car is ready they come up to you and you pay your bill and drive off. I must admit it was a relaxing morning which I haven’t had in a while.

It was so simple I didn’t know what I was afraid of and why I’ve never done it before. I remember the last time we had to have my car serviced, my husband and I had to go to a lot of trouble we had to change cars (which means move the car seats), and because he had to go to work he left the car at the service centre and took a taxi to work, then I had to pick him up at the office and we drove to the service center after work (mind you all this activity we had the kids with us). Now I know I can do it myself I’m actually excited about the next time.

I guess this is just one more thing that men do that women can do too (in my book). Now if only men can be good in directions and be right most of the times then we’d truly be equal. hehe

20130428-121347.jpg

coffee shop inside the TOYOTA showroom

20130428-121416.jpg

he enjoyed playing with all the sugar and cream on the table while we were waiting (no relation to the post hehe)

Leave a Reply

