Fried fish with caper and lemon sauce

20130504-150459.jpg

my version

In my feeble attempt to feed my family other than the all time favorite (in our house) sinigang. I chance upon this recipe at my local supermarket’s newsletter.  My first thought was … fish-ok; lemon-ok; capers-what’s that? I read on the net that it tastes just like olives and because I’m trying to expose myself and my family to different things I pack up the kids and run to grocery before Arnie gets home to get myself a small bottle of capers to complete my ingredients for this recipe.

RECIPE:

Serves 2

ingredients:

4 fish fillets of your choice

35g flour

salt and pepper

60g butter

2tbsp lemon juice

1 tsp lemon zest

2 Tbsp capers

2tbsp chopped fresh parsley

Method:

1. Mix together flour, salt and pepper. Coat the fish in the seasoned flour, shaking off the excess. Heat half the butter over a medium – high heat in a heavy based pan until foaming.

2. Cook the fish to your liking and remove to serving plates.

3. Add the remaining butter, juice, zest, capers and parsley. Heat for a minute then serve over the fish, sharing the capers between the plates.

My mistakes:

I assumed butter with fish would be a good thing so I went ahead and just let my heart out on the butter. To my disappointment the butter over powered the lemon even the capers was drowning in my overhanded butter. My next mistake was I was so focused on getting my capers I forgot I didn’t have parsley too. I used my spring onion instead which I felt didn’t make a difference – I think.

I’m posting this recipe not only for you to try it but also for me to have a copy #benefitsofablogging

3 Comments on “Fried fish with caper and lemon sauce”

  1. jam says:

    anything with butter is always good. hehe! 🙂 do you have extra capers left? I use it when i make spicy tuna w/ capers pasta 😀

  2. […] What I did was combine lettuce and cucumber (because that’s what I had in my fridge) added my smoked salmon, which BTW I would’ve eaten the pack then and there. Plus thought of adding the capers I bought when I made the Fried Fish with capers and lemon sauce. […]


Leave a Reply

