Safa Park

I’ve always had weight issues. Growing up relatives would always comment on how “big” I looked and they don’t mean the big as in tall, they meant the other thing. So I try to control my husband when he calls our kids “TABA” (fatso). Yes kids are cuter when they are a bit heavy and I too sometimes slip up and call my baby “tabachinching“. That is why I am trying to show a good example and exercise more to show them how good it feels when you take proper care of yourself.

To do this, I TRY to walk around Safa Park during the weekdays, when I can. Safa Park is a park in the middle of the city. It has a jogging path that goes around for 3500M. I like walking there in the morning because it helps me discipline myself to finish the circuit and walk the 3.5KM. Unlike when I walk around our place, If I feel just a bit of discomfort the temptation to go home is there and most often than not, I always give in. It’s very close to Adrian’s school so after my school run I go straight there.

I always make sure Aden has eaten so that he will not distract me when I do my walk. Lots of people walk or jog there in the morning and most of them are fit and slim. I always tell myself, if I keep this up I may be one of them someday and that’s what keeps me going.

20130504-150302.jpg

Ladies in their ABAYAS (Dubai’s national dress) walking around the park.

20130504-150313.jpg

exercise machines for public use in the park

20130504-150329.jpg

TIM HORTONS across the street that always calls my name when I pass by this corner “Nicole, come and eat here, I have coffee and donuts!” -proud to say I’ve never answered him back – YET!

One year from now I’m going to write another SAFA PARK post and tell you if I did it or maybe write about the excuse I came up with why I couldn’t do it. I still can’t see any results but I’m happy about my efforts. I just hope I continue to have this attitude and not get frustrated (like I always do).

5 Comments on “Safa Park”

  1. Janice says:

    Go go go!! Rooting for you pang!! 😊

  2. jam says:

    I’ll join you in your walk when I visit 😉

  3. […] I promised myself from my earlier post SAFA PARK I’m going to try to continue my walking exercise. Especially now that I’ve found the […]


Leave a Reply

