Mall Walking

Only in Dubai that Mall Walking is considered as a sport. Ok, it’s not going to be included in the Olympics any time soon but there’s a local group known as Mall Walkers here in Dubai that goes around the Mall of the Emirates that takes their walking very seriously even counting their total KM from all the walking they’ve done since they started their walking group. I was surprised to see that some people even post messages on forums asking for mall walking companions. I on the other hand have got my hands full with my mall walking partner (Aden). Because of this group of people the mall’s door is open as early as 8:00 AM. The best part is, it’s not open exclusively for them so anyone can do their own mall walking without joining the group.

I’ve accidentally discovered this one morning after dropping Adrian to school and I had to do some food shopping from Carrefour at the Mall of the Emirates which opens at 9:00 AM with nowhere to hang out at, I decided to wait it out at the mall parking but as I saw cars parking and women in their walking attire entering the mall, this naturally aroused my curiosity and that’s when I saw them, and started doing the same too.

Because Mall of the Emirates is halfway to our house and halfway from Adrian’s school once I finish walking I just wait at the mall until it’s time for me to pick up Adrian. But now, I’ve moved on to Ibn Battuta, a mall closer to our house, so after I walk the length of the mall (which I’m thinking should be about 2.5KM) I simply just go home and avoid hanging out around the mall just to be tempted by Starbucks, Costa and other breakfast spots open at that time.

As I promised myself from my earlier post SAFA PARK I’m going to try to continue my walking exercise. Especially now that I’ve found the perfect place to do it for the summer. It seems that there really is no more excuses for me NOT to do it huh?

20130601-113431.jpg

long empty corridors of Ibn Battuta mall at 8:30 AM

20130601-113454.jpg

temptation – but I’ve devised a way to avoid it – I don’t bring my wallet with me – simple!

20130601-113507.jpg

fellow mall walkers

3 Comments on “Mall Walking”

  1. Janice says:

    Nice! I think this is the sport for all of us! 😉


Leave a Reply

