Just call me, Mrs. Fix-it!

Being a stay at home mom I have to be an all around kind of gal. From cooking, to cleaning, to laundry, to taking care of the kids I’m indeed a renaissance woman. Today I had to take on a new role, being the house plumber.

Our kitchen sink has been clogged since last night. And although there are people we can call to fix these problems,for a fee of course, I thought I could just go ahead and take this project on myself. I watched how they did it last time and it wasn’t rocket science, it was actually more of common sense, it was clogged because there was something blocking it (DUH!) so he just reached in and grabbed whatever it was, I think after watching him do that without gloves, I got so grossed out that when it was time to pay up I doubled his fee out of pity.

Not ready to relive through that again, I seeked the help of some online guidance to help me fix the problem. These are the tips I found online: (I chose this one because I had the materials already at hand)

  1. Pour 1C of Baking Soda down the drain
  2. Followed by 1C of Vinegar
  3. Lastly, freshly boiled water

I repeated this procedure about 3-4 times this morning and it seemed to do the job.

It’s as simple as that! I’ve tried other chemicals available at the supermarkets before and to be honest the result was not as good as the Baking soda-vinegar mix. So why go for something that can be hazardous to our environment when a simple powder-liquid mix can do the job.

I’m very proud of my accomplishments today. Not to mention the money I was able to save not calling the fix-it guy.

Credits to: http://home.howstuffworks.com/home-improvement/plumbing/how-to-unclog-a-drain.htm for the tips

2 Comments on “Just call me, Mrs. Fix-it!”

  1. Carina says:

    I should try that, our drainage seems to be clogged most of the time ( hair ball from my kids),


Leave a Reply

