Stranded at Home

We are in no shape and form what you call “home body” people. Every weekend we try to go out anywhere to do anything, sometimes we go out just to do nothing at all. But last thursday a pipe burst along Ibn Batutta blocking our main exit/entrance to our residence area (here’s the news piece on that http://www.khaleejtimes.com/kt-article-display-1.asp?xfile=data/nationgeneral/2013/July/nationgeneral_July316.xml§ion=nationgeneral) leaving us stranded at home during the weekend. There is another way in/out of our place but since this is a smaller one there is a lot of traffic. We tried to go out last friday night for some ice cream for dessert but as soon as we saw the long line of cars we decided it was not worth it. This incident and The holy month of Ramadan does not exactly present an ideal 6 year wedding anniversary celebration but as we always do, we make the best out of the situation.

and this is how we did it…

My morning was greeted with a sweet surprise anniversary gift from Arnie. Waiting for me at the kitchen counter was this Nescafé Dolce Gusto machine. Props to Arnie, you think he doesn’t listen when I give hints on what I want but in the end he always shines through.

20130720-145016.jpg

I only had one cup today but I’m looking forward to more great cups of coffee and will definitely share with you my thoughts.

20130721-091243.jpg

For lunch, because we couldn’t eat out (for more than one reason, can you believe it?), we called in for delivery. Arnie suggested we call Oregano it’s an italian restaurant close to his office (they do have other branches) and he only has nice things to say about the place. If you know my husband, this is totally out of his character. He prefers to eat his sinigang over and above anything else. This may seem insignificant to the normal person but I appreciated this small gesture.  I have to say I was impressed with the food from Oregano plus the boys loved the Spaghetti Gamberetti and I loved my Risotto con Salmone as well. Everything we ordered was a home run delicious. Would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a change in pace once in a while. Husband did say it does take a bit of a wait to receive your order when dining in, make sure you are not super hungry when you arrive.

Good coffee, with an even cooler coffee maker, good food that I didn’t have to cook, wearing our PJs and staying in bed the whole day definitely constitutes to making the best out of a bad situation wouldn’t you say?

Capping up our weekend anniversary are these sweet macaroons from Ladurée. (Need I say more? They’re the best!)20130721-091253.jpg

If all our future anniversaries will be as sweet as this one, I have to say I am looking forward to many many more.

2 Comments on “Stranded at Home”

  1. Janice says:

    Sounds perfect to me! 😉 Happy anniversary!!


Leave a Reply

