Eid Mubarak 2013

Eid Mubarak ( Arabic: عيد مبارك‎, Bengali: ঈদ মুবারক, Persian/Urdu: عید مُبارک, Malayalam: ഈദ്‌ മുബാറക്‌) is a traditional Muslim greeting reserved for use on the festivals of Eid ul-Adha and Eid ul-Fitr. Eid means “Feast” and refers to the occasion itself, and Mubarak means “Blessed.” (e.g.: “Eid Mubarak, sister!”)

Wikipedia

Eid al- Fitr is an important religious holiday for Muslims that marks the end of Ramadan and it usually means a long holiday for us non-Muslims living in Dubai. They compare this holiday to Christmas in our Christian tradition where people get together to eat and be merry with friends and family. Kids and adults alike dress up in their best attire and go house to house to exchange gifts.

As a Christian family in a Muslim country we celebrate this in our own way too. Normally having a 4 day holiday means it’s time to take a trip out-of-town to one of the neighboring emirates but with everybody having the same idea it gets a little too crowded going out-of-town. So sometimes it’s better to stay home and enjoy the traffic free roads of Dubai.

This year, without any planning from my OC brain this Eid has become a coming together of old friends and making new ones plus a child – friendly holiday with back to back to back playdates for Adrian that at the end of this holiday, I am “all played” out!

Our adventure began on a Thursday with a HS reunion for Arnie with all or almost all his HS mates that are here in Dubai. It having been a “Arnie’s side” type of gathering I was in charge of the kids which I didn’t mind much but could sometimes be an overwhelming task. They will celebrate their 20 years out of HS next year which made me think and miss my own HS friends. They shared stories of how they were and how they are and the reminiscing session could have gone longer if our generous host, Julios and Jeanette didn’t have anywhere else to go but I think 12-9 is enough for a first part meeting. Upon leaving the party, Arnie reconnected with old friends and I made new ones which made the evening a succesful night in my book.

20130812-071847.jpg

Arnie’s HS batch ’94 (Dubai)

20130812-071856.jpg

Adrian keeping himself entertained while the adults reminisce their HS days

Friday night was with Arnie’s office mates (and/or ex office mates) celebrating Ryan’s nth birthday at Silicon Oasis. I wish I took more pictures to share,but I didn’t. Roze and Ryan our hosts for the evening are very blessed in many ways than one and I can understand why God has been very generous with them because they too are very generous towards others. Roze will be expecting another baby boy in September and we can’t wait for this new addition     to this bunch.

20130812-071759.jpg

more playtime for Adrian and Aden with their Dubai World gang (Z, Vhigo and Czin)

Lastly, and certainly not the least is a saturday lunch “playdate” with my Belles. Even though we just saw each other a week before it was nice to see these girls again. I wish I took more photos but sometimes I get caught up with the eating and gossip that I just forget…

20130812-071806.jpg

The Belles brewing something…a possible trip to Bahrain to visit Cynthia 2014

I initially did not plan anything for this holiday but it was a pleasant surprise how our busy Eid Al Fitr turned out. After 40 days there’s another holiday coming up Eid Al Adha which will be another 4 day holiday I wonder what kind of surprise will be waiting for us then.

Leave a Reply

