Romanticizing Dover

image-1

At the Marina with a view of Dover Castle and the White Cliffs

Given the choice to pack up the family and move to England, I would definitely choose to move to Dover. It’s a small town of about 40,000 people, found at the South Eastern tip of the country and is only a ferry ride away from France. It’s home to the Dover castle, which is the largest castle in England and the White Cliffs of Dover which is a must see on any nature lover’s bucket list.

Growing up, I’ve always lived in Manila and for the past decade I’ve lived in Dubai, which is a fast paced city. Having the opportunity to stay here in Dover made me realize that maybe I can live in small town and be happy. When Arnie and I were a DINK couple (Double Income No Kids) the thought of living in a small town was unimaginable. We both like exploring new things and not being able to do that in a small town scared us. I guess we were mainly afraid we’d die of boredom. But since having the two boys and maybe some level of maturity, changed our whole perspective in life. Nowadays we are happy and content to visit a zoo or a play ground, anything to help us entertain the kids on a weekend were 5 stars on our list.

20131009-060005.jpg

Another reason why I’d choose to live in Dover is because of it’s sentimental meaning for me. On our last trip here, Adrian was less than one year old and we stayed here for 3 weeks during the summer. It was an unforgettable moment for me because finding myself in a new town woke up the explorer within me and having the baby only challenged me more. Adrian was my champion, he would sit on his stroller the whole time, never complaining wherever I took him. And boy oh boy did we explore. I would buy the unlimited ticket in the morning and just hop on any bus I find, explore where it would take me and just hop on another bus and another until it was time to come home. I was able to see so much during that summer that I thought to myself, if I could take a 10 month old baby all around Kent and explore new places on my own then maybe I can handle this parenting thing and whatever challenges it has for me. If you are confused about why I was doing this all by myself, it was because Arnie was here for work, we were just here for the ride.

20131009-060035.jpg

The view from our window

Coming back was nostalgic for me. I even thought it would never happen. Plus, it is even made more special because our hotel is right in front of the beach, which on a nice clear day you can see Calais, France from our window. Being here now with the two boys only makes it more memorable. Three days in and we’ve already spent a lot of time by the marina, been to the playground and even did the laundry at the local laundromat.

20131009-060018.jpgimage

image-2

There may be other towns better but for me Dover will always be a part of our family’s history and will always have a special place in my heart.

2 Comments on “Romanticizing Dover”

  1. Janice says:

    Love this post 🙂 nice pics!!

  2. awwww! Thanks for always appreciating. You inspire me to keep writing and sharing. Mwah Mwah!


Leave a Reply

