Agent woes

Wikipedia defines a Real estate agent as follows:

real estate broker or real estate agent is a person who acts as an intermediary between sellers and buyers of real estate/real property and attempts to find sellers who wish to sell and buyers who wish to buy.

or in our case RENT.

My ranting is coming from the wake of me going to DEWA to have electricity of the new place reconnected only to find out the apartment has some outstanding balance that has to be cleared first before I open our account. Same thing happened when I went to the district cooling office. These are important things we need to have when we move in, isn’t it suppose to be the agent’s job to have all this cleared before he even puts the property on the ads? 

Is it wrong of me to expect a little more service from them? I mean I found the ad, we went to see the apartment on our OWN, we met him at his place of convenience to pay for the deposit, we came to him when it was time to sign the papers, we came to his office to pick up the keys and on top of that we paid him  4,000 AED ($1,089) for the little work that he has done. 

It seems to me that being a real estate agent is a very lucrative profession in Dubai maybe I should look into it. I’m not asking for much, all I ask is that at least have the apartment ready for new tenants. Like the back charges on the electricity, I would’ve avoided 3 trips to DEWA if the back charges were cleared before we came into the picture. The balance for the cooling is still not cleared up to this day and we are moving in 3 days, so it’s a possibility that we are moving in without AC (which is not an option in this part of the world).  

If to the normal person all this seems taxing imagine me coming and going to these offices with a toddler in tow who may or may not be in the mood to wait in line. I would’ve managed a trip once, maybe twice if I’m lucky but on my third attempt this morning – not so much.

Bottom line, all this trouble would’ve been avoided if only the agent made sure everything was cleared before he signed new tenants in the apartment. 

I hate to rant, especially on this space since this is my happy place but it’s been eating me up these past few days and I’m loosing precious sleep thinking about it.
I’ve aired my concerns and this is the end of it – Good Night! (kaya?)
Leave a Reply

