come and gone

Just got home from the airport where we just dropped off my sister and her family to go back home to Manila. It’s funny how after only a week of having them here the apartment feels so empty without them.

My eldest being the more emotional one of my two children cried himself to sleep in the car on the way home. Crying out for his ninang and his Tito Alex because he didn’t want them to go or at least go without him (if we gave him the green signal he was ready to go on the plane with them without us). It was a heartbreaking moment, one in which I had to control myself or else I would start crying too. We tried to explain to him that we could easily get in touch with them again with calls and messages but of course it’s not the same – We know it and my son knows it too.

Having my sister over felt like home. I get to talk to her on a daily basis so having her over felt like we were never really apart. The best part of their visit was having to touch and smell her little bambino. I never thought I could love someone else’s child as much as I love my own children but maybe because I’m a parent myself and I’m her big sister, there is this feeling of her kids are my kids too.

Seven days ago we had a laugh watching how each of our boys reacted to each other. My eldest immediately declared that his newly arrived cousin was his new baby brother, which only showed me how nurturing and caring he can be and how he slipped into his “kuya” mode without being aware of it. My little one on the other hand was more territorial, watching the baby very closely and ready to “attack” if he saw him take one of his toys or get anywhere near me. This didn’t change for the next seven days but I would like to think that by the end of all this they will be aware now of each other’s existence and learn to accept the fact and eventually share – who knows they could be each other’s best friends/cousins in their case.

Next to my sister, my cousins are the next best thing I had growing up. I would like to think that I have a different relationship with each and every one of them but all of them special nonetheless. Being in the middle I have older cousins I look up to and run to for spiritual, emotional and even parenting advice. Being older to some, I would like to think I could share some lessons I’ve picked up along the way. Although my younger cousins are far wiser than me in experience and wisdom so most of the time I learn a lot from them too.

I’m getting off topic but to be honest I really didn’t know what I wanted to talk about in the first place. I wanted to share my sister was here and that it was nice to meet her new baby and that I hope our boys grow up close like how me and my cousins are close. I think I did all that…

Maybe its the fatigue from the week that was or that my brain is slowly shutting down after being alert 24/7 for 7 days but I don’t think I’m making any sense…Let’s re group tomorrow and maybe I can share with you all more from my sister’s visit to Dubai 2014.

Good night! I’m low bat and my brain is slowly shutting dooooowwwwwwn….

Leave a Reply

