SAVE the banana, make some bread!

Yesterday there were three over ripe bananas staring at me from the kitchen counter. They were begging me not to throw them in the bin. But it was looking gross and I can’t risk my children eating them by mistake, so I called my inner Martha and asked her what to do? We decided to make banana bread out of them. (I know what you’re thinking…SCHIZO alert!!!)

20140514-061904.jpgThis morning, as I drank my coffee with the moist(est?) banana bread ever I am thankful for my inner Martha for the suggestion.

Here’s the recipe I found from food.com:

Ingredients:

Serves: 12

Yield:1 loaf

Units: US | Metric
3 ripe bananas, mashed
2 eggs
1 3/4 cups flour
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup milk
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4-1/2 cup walnuts (optional)

Directions:

  1. Combine the oil, eggs, sugar, milk, vanilla, and mashed bananas.
  2. Add the baking soda and flour.
  3. Combine well for 2-3 minutes.
  4. Pour into a greased loaf pan and bake in a preheated 325 degree F oven for 1 hour and 20 minutes.

Read more: <a href=”http://www.food.com/recipe/moist-and-delicious-banana-bread-252449?oc=linkback”>http://www.food.com/recipe/moist-and-delicious-banana-bread-252449?oc=linkback</a&gt;

20140514-061919.jpg

To make it my own I tweaked the recipe a little, here are my revisions:

  • Instead of vegetable oil, I used butter. This trick also comes in handy to improve box cake recipes. I know it adds to the calories but really? You are making a cake, if you really want to save on the calories slowly put down the bowl and whisk and go to the gym. haha
  • I also added a dash of cinnamon, why? no reason I just like it and I have it here sooooo…..
  • For a bit of extra treat, I added brown sugar on top before baking it. I love the banana loaf from Red Ribbon and that crusty top is my favourite part. So I figured maybe this will do the trick. And it did! This small tweak gave my banana bread that sweet chewy crust I was looking for. Not exactly Red Ribbon level but BETTER! (nakanam!!!)

 Lastly, I also found out that you can actually freeze your loaf and it will stay fresh for about 3 months. Same goes for your over ripe bananas, just pop them in the freezer and use them as needed.

Bake loaf as per the recipe. Leave to cool completely at room temperature then wrap well in clingfilm and foil and freeze for up to 3 months. Leave to defrost in packaging at room temperature for 2-3 hours before serving.

Delia Online

 

 

2 Comments on “SAVE the banana, make some bread!”

  1. rey & lyn says:

    We know your banana bread is way better than Red Ribbon’s! We can tell! 😉 Hehehehe.


Leave a Reply

