My DIY morning

20140520-151319-54799817.jpgThis morning I was thinking of a way to transform this old Ikea bookshelf into something other than what it was meant for. I believe it’s called an Ikea Hack.

If you have kids then you know that having an open bookshelf with books and all sorts of expensive trinkets on display is definitely a recipe for disaster. That’s why in our house there is no expensive trinkets on display. Everything that’s valuable or has sentimental value are on display 6ft. above the floor or are inside cabinets and shelves, if possible with locks, but this doesn’t guarantee they won’t get their small hands on it.

So you see this book shelf has no use for me anymore. I did at one point lay it on its side and placed it behind the sofa. But the boys, with their wild imagination use it as a diving board to jump from and land on the sofa (oh the horror!).

And then I had a lightbulb moment this morning I decided to put it by the dining table and use it as a buffet table. With our family coming in 4 more sleeps (as my son would say) it will be perfect in that space to hold, drinks, snacks, desserts, the possibilities are endless.

But the birch wood finish did not match my other furniture so I searched for some old fabric and some thumbtacks to have that upholstered studs look like in the picture below.

20130417-080641

This is my end result. If I had more thumbtacks I would definitely put them side by side but I only had a few left and I didn’t want to spend on this project, This would have to do.

20140520-151738-55058718.jpg

Of course I had to practice some table decorating (skills)…but did not leave it there for long, if you can see someone was very busy like mommy

20140520-151841-55121241.jpg

Oh and because it still is a bookshelf even when it’s laying on it’s side I kept the back part open and used it to hold some papers that the kids will never get their hands into.

20140520-220708-79628395.jpg

8 Comments on “My DIY morning”

  1. Janice says:

    Very resourceful and creative!

  2. rey & lyn says:

    Great idea and you still had some storage space! 🙂

  3. Joyce says:

    I love this idea!


Leave a Reply

