Exploring the East

rizal-map

Being an adopted child of the province of Rizal I feel like I’ve never really made the effort to explore around. We always stay there half of  the time we go home but we only limit ourselves to Tropical Hut (a DH fave) along Ortigas extension and of course SM.

After watching an episode of Travel Time with Susan Calo-Medina exploring the province of Rizal. I told DH that I would like to see some of these places. I took notes from the episode and saved it on my memory bank.

I was particularly intrigued about the PINTO Art Museum. I see lots of my Instagram and FB friends visiting this place in Antipolo and from their pictures it seemed like a very nice and relaxing place to come and visit not to mention educational too. So on one of our free days we planned an exploration tour with my MIL, BIL, and SIL.

20140712-164858-60538414.jpg

The Pinto Art Museum houses a vast collection of contemporary Philippine Art and boasts beautiful gardens which you can sit on and spend the afternoon on all over the property. Every corner was photo worthy I can imagine why people are enchanted with the place. Do be ready for some walking up and down the stairs if you want to see the property. It was a bit warm when we went to visit so not exactly perfect conditions for my AC loving boys.

The museum is open from Tuesday – Sunday from 9:00 – 17:00, with an entrance fee of P150 for adults, P75 for students and children and P120 for seniors. There are 2 hour tours offered scheduled throughout the day. I would’ve loved to have attended the 2 hour tour of the place but because of the heat, all the walking and the restrictions of no touching the art, my boys can only handle 30 minutes of the place. I managed to stretch it to 45mins with the bribe of buying them juice if they behaved a bit longer. In hindsight maybe it was good that we weren’t able to see the property in one visit because now we have a reason to come back. The woman at the reception did say that they have Cafe only open on the weekends but on weekdays guests are allowed to bring in food. The place is so huge with lots of places to sit that maybe having a picnic there won’t be so bad (just pray it doesn’t rain).

20140712-164859-60539257.jpg20140712-164902-60542178.jpg20140712-164900-60540247.jpg20140712-164851-60531594.jpg

20140712-164853-60533631.jpg

Got so inspired by all the art I had to contribute my own, I call this … “Man by the window

Next on our list was the Angono Petroglyphs in Binangonan, the two towns were probably in disputes as to whom the petroglyphs belonged to that they just decided to share the title (gotta love Philippine politics or humour)

20140712-164857-60537564.jpg

The Agono Petroglyphs (in Binangonan) is found on the side of a mountain and you would have to walk through a tunnel to get to the other side to see it but it was raining when we got there, so the guard made us drive through the cave which was part of the thrill going there (at least for me). It had a P20 entrance fee but it was indescribable in life. Imagine people from long long long time ago inscribed those drawings on the wall to tell you a story of how they used to live. GOOSE bumps!!

20140712-164855-60535689.jpg

This concluded our exploration of the east, at least for now. I’m sure there’s more to see and explore but we’ll save those for next time.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

