Lights out at 8PM

I run a very tight shift at home. I like my schedules and I want them followed to the T. My husband, not so much…he’s very relaxed and has a “go with the flow, enjoy the moment” type of personality. We’re polar opposites when it comes to timing but as always we make it work.

It’s been a week now that he’s been away on business and the kids are running on my schedule

6:40 leave house for school

7:30 big one at school

8:00 little one at school

13:00 pick up little one

14:15 pick up 1st one

15:00 home – rest

16:00 bath

17:00 all homework done

18:00 dinner

wind down and by …

20:00 light out

Of course sometimes they’re still hyper and active but I realized that if you close the lights on them sooner or later they WILL fall asleep, that’s if you don’t fall asleep first (which is usually what happens to me).

I know enjoying life and taking time to smell the roses is a good thing but I truly believe that being punctual is also a trait that they should instill in themselves. It’s one thing that’s very important to me and I think that if everybody in the world would be punctual we are 1/2 way to world peace as we know it.

OK, I’m not saying I’m perfect, I’m late sometimes too and I often feel bad about it, it’s easy to blame someone else for my tardiness but what does blaming someone else do for the one who waited for me and wasted their time? the answer NADA. Time was still wasted and we can’t bring that time back.

Screen Shot 2015-10-05 at 11.46.31 AM

I’m sometimes/often seen as the villain at home because of my sergeant ways of barking orders to move quickly because we were going to be late (2 hours before) but my ethos is, let’s get there on time and then enjoy the moment …why not have both worlds working in together right?

One Comment on “Lights out at 8PM”

  1. Janice says:

    Routines are good!


Leave a Reply

