Din Tai Fung

Intro: Weeks before I had to get out of the house at night to help out a friend. This made me very nervous because it was the first time I left the  boys on their own(FYI boys including their father). I’ve left them a couple of hours before but never at night and never until bed time. When I got back, the house was still standing and the boys were all tucked in which gave me the inspiration that maybe I can have a mommy night out. Ever my no. 1 supporter my husband agreed to take the kids one night and me and my friend M planned a nice dinner out.

We had our eyes, heart and tummies set at Din Tai Fung. They opened at the Mall of the Emirates around September of 2015 and as expected there was always a line and although it is a Michelin star restaurant, it is not fine dinning which means bringing the boys (which are 1/2 monkeys) would’ve been possible. But because of the line, I’m afraid that the waiting would trigger tantrums from all three of my boys.

My friend M on the other hand has picky eaters, husband and son. Which means trying anything new is her personal nightmare –  that’s why they don’t.

So for our first mommy night out we chose Din Tai Fung. We were both so happy to get out of the house that I think we ordered the whole menu. The table was so small that our food barely fit on it.

Here’s what we tried:

Of course we had to order some Seafood Xiaolong Bao since that is what they are known for.

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 8.50.54 PMJa Jian Noodles in minced Chicken sauce. I don’t think Ive ever had these type of noodles before but it was surely yummy.

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 8.51.44 PM

Hong Kong style Roast Duck, these came with the usual pancake and cucumber plus plum sauce yummy but really nothing to write home about.

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 8.48.17 PM

Shrimp Fried Rice, I love fried rice so this was a no brainer.

Screen Shot 2016-02-12 at 8.47.31 PM

I’m not a food critic but to be honest I didn’t know what was the fuss about…I can’t say I’ve eaten at better Chinese restaurants before because to be honest they all taste the same to me…sorry.

My first Michelin restaurant and I can’t say it blew my socks off.

*All pics I’ve grabbed from Zomato’s menu pics

 

2 Comments on “Din Tai Fung”

  1. Janice says:

    Try the pork stuff (I guess they don’t serve pork there so try here!). In other places the xiao long bao and noodles you ate come with pork baka kaya they taste different 🙂


Leave a Reply

