a promise to my 40 year old self

At the beginning of this year I made a resolution to lose weight. I know, so original right? But I told myself that with my youngest being 4 years old this year, carrying that extra baby weight around is simply not acceptable anymore. So I bought all the Bootea on sale, skipped my meals and reduced my carbs and just all around forgetting to live life. Now I know this should mean that I’m a size 0 by now right? Weeeeell…not quite because while doing all this craziness I’ve had constant headaches that disabled me from doing anything around the house and the most scary part was that it was affecting my driving (and I never drive alone – I always have two precious passengers behind me). But my harsh realization came to me by way of my husband (my light and guide 😜) when one night as I was complaining of yet another massive headache he told me that I have to take care of myself more. Be aware of the things that harm me and not consciously inflict them upon myself because this craziness of trying to lose weight could kill me (so enlightened right?).

Anyway, his words made an impact on me (I don’t know if that wouldn’t impact anybody) and made me realize that maybe loosing weight with a “The end justifies the means” attitude isn’t exactly the best way to go. Plus if I did lose my weight and died in the process that wouldn’t be a good thing too right? Anyway…

o-FITNESS-FORECAST-facebook

Better Health Ahead Sign

With my birthday around the corner and 40 being a couple of years away, I made a new promise to myself BE HEALTHY  and  FIT by 40. Healthy enough to run around with my boys and fit enough to outlive the pet tortoise 🐢 I’m going to get as soon as we have a garden to put him in (you do know they live up to a 100 right?). Now, if a few pounds get to be shed off in the process then that wouldn’t be so bad, right?

No Photoshop here! Hard work and  lots and lots of pain! #no pain no gain.

Inspired by my cousin Chinky, who’s kicking 40 in the a** by loosing weight by changing her lifestyle and being fit with regular exercise and a healthy diet (I’m so proud of her!) I’ve slowly started being active myself. I’ve dusted the stationary bike 🚴we’ve had for almost forever and made plans to make use of our community pool 🏊 when the boys start school. Of course some much needed scheduling should be put in place first which also happens to be my favorite exercise 😜. There are talks of joining a gym but then I realized I hate organized grouped activities and small talk with strangers so I’m thinking of alternatives like me and You tube Jillian in my living room.

cycling with a view

jillian-michaels-banish-fat-boost-metabolism-werk

Doesn’t she look scary?

I’m not planning to join a triathlon or lift 53 kg by the time I’m 40.  But maybe I do owe it to my family not only to take care of them but also to take care of myself too. Also, to make sure that I’m going to be here for them for a long long long… time.

Welcome to my future midlife crisis.

4 Comments on “a promise to my 40 year old self”

  1. Janet Bautista says:

    Hahaha! Been there.. Been that!!! You are certainly just in time Nix! I started running and used the app c25k and ran my first 5k 3 years ago. It can be done. Also a good excuse to buy those Nikes and Adidas😜

  2. Chinky G. Jacobe says:

    Haha! Thanks Cuz….it was a year long process, i did not realize I was losing that much weight until someone pointed it out to me. I still see myself as “big” since i was like that 3/4 of my life.

    As long as you are happy, healthy and loved…it does not matter what you look like. Although I must admit, I am scared to go back to my old self as I still cannot give up Lays, Kit-Kat and ice cream 😜.


Leave a Reply

