mafia moms

I used to pride myself for being independent (aka loner). I don’t mind eating alone and I don’t mind doing things on my own. Heck! I even watched a movie on my own! (once). I am woman, I am independent, HEAR ME ROAR!!!

Aside from this, having the technology we have now, I can bug my cousins and sister anywhere and at anytime I want. So really having someone be physically beside me to talk to was not high on my priority list. Don’t get me wrong, I have individual relationships, I’m not a hermit! (FYI! nothing wrong with that) but I’ve always felt like it was better to keep my circle small. And by small, I mean one friend I have breakfast with every two weeks.

But when like-minded stay at home moms welcomed me into their fold, I discovered that I may be the flock, cult following kind of gal. I’ve discovered that belonging to a bigger circle means that there are more people to catch you when you fall and/or when one isn’t able to help, another one is there to do the deed. Or it can be as simple as having someone to always have coffee with when my hands start to shake and want to get that caffeine buzz my body craves for once in a while😉.

In just4 months, It amazes me how easy it was for me to blend in with this group. By being with these ladies I found an outlet to vent out frustrations big or small and by also willing to listen, I’ve found out that some of them also share my own. I have learned things I might have not known of otherwise and I wouldn’t have met such interesting people with such colorful lives. It’s always nice to know and be reminded that I am not alone in this struggle we call motherhood.

I always describe our group to other people as a mafia of moms who are kind-hearted and caring. But think twice before you cross any of their children and/or anybody they care about because these moms are lionesses in sheep’s clothing and although they look meek and mild, they can clobber you to death with just a stare. Let’s just say, I’m happy I’m on their good side.

I used to think that having my family with me is all I need but having friends that are loyal and treat you like their family, is one offer I simply cannot refuse.

31877635

Leave a Reply

